ANZOS-ASLM-ICCR 2019, Sydney, Australia

ANZOS Young Investigator Award

Congratulations to the 2019 ANZOS Young Investigator, Samantha Solon-Biet! 

What is the ANZOS YIA Award?

This is the most prestigious of the ANZOS research awards, made to recognise and encourage the research careers of young or recently graduated scientists active in obesity-related research.  The award is based on a consideration of the originality, ingenuity and productivity of the applicant over the past 5 years. Final judgment of the successful applicant includes the ANZOS Award Subcommittee’s assessment of that contribution as well as the potential of the applicant to contribute to improvements in our understanding of obesity issues into the future.  

The Award is associated with a prize of $5000 to be used by the successful applicant to support their research endeavours.

Past winners include:

  • 2018 - Dr Garron Dodd
  • 2017 - Dr Sarah Glastras
  • 2016 - Dr Charmaine Tam
  • 2015 - Dr Sarah Lockie
  • 2014 - Dr Radhika Seimon
  • 2013 - Dr Kathryn Backholer
  • 2012 - Dr Margarita Tsiros
  • 2011 - Dr Leah Brennan
  • 2010 - Dr Adrian Cameron
  • 2009 - Dr Lisa Moran
  • 2008 - Dr Alexia Pena Vargas
  • 2007 - Dr Leonie Heilbronn
  • 2005 - Dr Nuala Byrne
  • 2004 - Dr Kylie Hesketh
  • 2003 - Dr Natalie Luscombe
  • 2002 - Dr Amanda Sainsbury-Salis
  • 2001 - Dr Adamandia Kriketos


If you are interested in applying for the YIA award next year, please see the below important information. 



The award is open to young researchers who:

  • Are currently financial and active members of ANZOS. 
  • Have obtained or are currently undertaking a higher degree or award (i.e. MSc PhD, MD, college fellowship),
  • Are 35 years or younger, OR are in the early stages of a research career (i.e. within 5 years of obtaining their postgraduate degree).
  • The recipient should be available to receive the award during the ANZOS  Annual Scientific Meeting and to give a presentation outlining  their current work and their career pathway.


  • Applicants are asked to submit a curriculum vitae together with up to 3 original research papers or abstracts published (or accepted for publication) in the previous 5 years.  This should be supported by 2 separate letters -  one from the mentor of the candidate supporting their application, and another from a recognised expert in their field of work who is not associated with their current institution, who comments on the significance of the work program set out in the submitted papers or abstracts.
  • If the candidate is not the sole author of a paper submitted, she/he must be the first author and the manuscript must be accompanied by a letter from the senior co-author/s attesting to the applicants lead role in the investigation described in the manuscript.
  • The research work of the applicant must have been performed predominantly in Australia and New Zealand.
  • The application should contain a short section detailing how they might use the prize to support their research career.
  • An electronic copy of the application (preferably as a single PDF) should be sent to the Executive Officer,  and must include the relevant publications. Page proofs are acceptable. If the work is 'in press' documentation of final acceptance must be supplied.



The ANZOS Young Investigator Award is judged by a sub-committee of Council consisting of the Chair of the ANZOS Awards Subcommittee (unless a conflict of interest occurs), and 2 other nominated members.

The award will be judged on  the quality and originality of the program of work and the productivity and progress they have made in their field relative to the opportunity they have been afforded; and,

The sub-committee has a duty to apply the criteria equitably to all applicants.


The award will be presented at a special session of the ANZOS Annual Scientific Meeting, at which the awardee is expected to give a brief presentation. 

Our Sponsors